Updated: Jun 6
What is Maltodextrins and are they killing us?
The digestive end product of Maltodextrin's (MDs), glucose, is not considered to be an essential nutrient (Westman, 2002). It is a white starchy powder that is used to improve FLAVOR,THICKNESS, and SHELF LIVE. However, since glucose from digested maltodextrins is rapidly absorbed in the small intestine, the increased use has raised questions about potential effects on metabolism and health. Patients with celiac disease should be aware that maltodextrin can contain traces of gluten when wheat is the source of the starch.
The present paper, we review available literature from food technology, food chemistry, behavioral nutrition, and biological sciences to provide an up-to-date reflection on the current use of digestible MDs. In doing so, we review in brief the production process of different MDs and the physicochemical, technological, and functional properties. Moreover, by incorporating literature streams from nutritional and medical sciences, the current knowledge on nutrition and health implications is reflected in the light of observed correlations between increased refined CHOs intake and increase in obesity rates and related health disorders (Astrup, 1999). In the case that the consumption of rapidly digested starch, as well as products derived thereof plays a significant role in the etiology of obesity, steps should be taken by regulatory authorities to inform the public appropriately.
However, since glucose from digested maltodextrins is rapidly absorbed in the small intestine, the increased use has raised questions about potential effects on metabolism and health.
Foods that is is found in:
pasta, cooked cereals, and rice
sugars and sweets
energy and sports drinks
Many food additives can cause allergies or intolerances. Side effects may include allergic reactions, weight gain, gas, flatulence, and bloating.
Maltodextrin may also cause a rash or skin irritation, asthma, cramping, or difficulty breathing.
The primary sources of maltodextrin will be corn, rice, and potato, but manufacturers may sometimes use wheat. People with celiac disease or gluten intolerance should be aware that, although the production process will remove most of the protein components, maltodextrin derived from wheat may still contain some gluten.